Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Loose compensator bolt/nut??

Old 10-31-2011, 12:44 PM
Triguy
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loose compensator bolt/nut??

After 100 mi ride on 09 TG with 12,000 miles, starting out from a stop about a block from home, loud clanking noise coming from tranny area. Limped home. Had bike towed to dealer. Seems compensator bolt or nut had worked loose. Dealer says has seen this before on 2 wheel bikes also. He said they applied loctite and a lock washer, and should have no problems. I am NOT a mechanic. I had the 30t sprocket installed a month prior, and thought that might have been the problem area, but dealer showed me that compensator bolt is in front of tranny area, and 30t sprocket is in rear portion.
No parts were replaced. The noise sounded like it could have damaged parts. Luckily this happened close to home. Would have been nasty if on a trip or on the freeway. Thank God I had extended warranty that covered everything. Don't know what it would have cost. Dealer never gives me any paperwork after warranty repairs.
First Harley for me, and I continue to be disappointed with the quality of the factory product. BUT THE DAMN THING LOOKS SOOO GOOD!!!!
First warranty service was to tighten nut that fastens triple tree to the frame. The symptom was a clunking in the front end while braking or closing the throttle.This was also fixed with loctite and a lock washer.
How do these bikes leave the factory in this condition???
Sorry for the long story, but I just needed to vent...and wanted to inform everyone of things to be aware of...
Anyway, just got back from an 840 mile trip and washed her. She ran well, and SHE LOOKS SOOO GOOD!

Triguy
Pasadena, CA
Black 09 TG

Old 10-31-2011, 01:10 PM
Boom
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post