Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

What's happening to me?!?!?

Old 07-17-2014, 12:46 AM
DK Custom
Platinum Sponsor
Received 3,930 Likes on 2,288 Posts
Arrow What's happening to me?!?!?

I've been riding for close to 50 years.

As recently as 8 years ago-

I would have never thought I would own an EFI bike.

I would have never thought I would use Cruise Control

Even 3 years ago I told Mary I don't need any heated gear

Now, I own 3 EFI bikes, love using cruise control, and wonder why I didn't get heated gear years ago!

Fast forward to Today-

As of yesterday I had never used GPS in my life. (I have seen my Mary use it)

Today, I had a print out of the map and instructions for our ride (5 states and 480 miles, with lots of turns on secondary roads) This is my normal way of navigating ever since I can remember (of course, they used to be photocopies or notes on scrap paper).

I had read on the forum that the HD GPS was not good for trips with multiple stops, but was ok for navigating from one stop to the next.

So I pushed that button and entered in the city where I anticipated my first gas stop to be....ended up doing that at each of the gas stops for the entire day.

WOWOWOW! I like it!

So much better than stopping to look at the map, or Mary trying to read it at 60 mph and then try and tell me what the next turn should be.

It may not be a good system when compared to others...but it did me good today and I plan on continuing to use it!

Oh, and one town we were in...we rode thru the whole town and did not see a single gas station...so I pulled over and did the POI thing...it then guided me to the gas station of my choice, 1.4 miles away.

Also used it to find a Super 8 when we decided to stop for the day.