Wheels/Tires Questions and discussion about wheels and tires should be posted here.

Brake Switch, Bleeding, and Fluid.

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 10:16 AM
Snap96
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Switch, Bleeding, and Fluid.

Sorry for the long post.

I’m no mechanic but have the will to at least learn some of the basics so I can understand my ride better and be able to do some of the work myself.

I was out riding this weekend and my buddy who I was riding with told me that my brake lights never went on. I found that kind of weird so I stepped on the brake pedal and wouldn’t you know it the brake light didn’t come on until I was practically standing on the pedal. That would indicate that I would have lock up my tires before the brake light went on. This is obviously not how it’s supposed to work and unsafe. After digging through this forum and google it appears that I’m not the only one that has experienced this issue before.

From all the info I read it seems I need to replace the brake light switch. I don't have a hand brake since the foot pedal applies both the front and back brake. Upon examing the bike, I’ll need a double banjo bolt pressure switch to replace the one that’s currently installed. My questions are about installing the new switch, bleeding the lines, and the type of fluid.

1) After installing the switch, do I need to bleed the brake lines?

2) If so, since both the front and back brake lines are connected to the same bolt do you just bleed one brake line at time and then do the other?

3) I’m not entirely sure what type of fluid is being used so is it best to just flush out the old stuff and replace with the type of fluid I want to use (DOT5)?

4) And with two brakes lines connected to the cylinder is there any issue of cross contamination when flushing? My concern is that after flushing the first line, some fluid from the other line happens to contaminate the line I just flushed.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.