2018+ Softail Models Breakout

Newbie New Deluxe

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2019, 09:33 AM
alittlejohn60615
6th Gear
Received 13 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Newbie New Deluxe

Picked up a 2019 Scorched Orange Deluxe yesterday. Although it was “used”, only had 5 miles on her. I am new to riding ( got my license late last year). Grabbed a 2010 Iron 883 (excellent starter bike) but after 1000 miles wanted and needed more.

Was working a deal on a vivid black deluxe when I saw the Scorched Orange. I really liked the black but LOVE the Orange. The chrome, Orange and denim black just does something for me.

Only issue with the bike is that ridiculous short reach seat. Looks HUGE. But I’m 5’3 and need it to reach the controls. May have to do something or swap the handlebars as now I feel too close. So if anyone has any ideas on shorter controls that would allow me to use the OEM seat (which I think looks great) and or ways to mod the handlebars... please share.

And BTW... I was very concerned about going to a bigger bike being a smaller guy BUT that bike has CRAZY handeling. Almost better than the sporty. And the power..... ohhhh the power. Glad I bought this bike and glad to be in the club!

The following 2 users liked this post by alittlejohn60615:
Agoober (06-16-2019), frontiercat (06-15-2019)
Old 06-15-2019, 10:02 AM
Thingfish
Grand HDF Member
Received 911 Likes on 662 Posts

Congrats and welcome. Beautiful looking Deluxe! You’re not going to see one of those on every corner. For bars there are a lot of options to get you back on an OEM seat. A different riser may be all you need. Sit on the OEM seat and hold your hands where you think you’d like them. Have a friend measure where they are from the stock grips. This will give you a good starting pace to decide if you need different bars or just a riser that gets the stock bar closer to you.