Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Audio upgrade for novice RG owner

Old 03-12-2018, 04:19 PM
ZX2BY2U
Cruiser
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Audio upgrade for novice RG owner

Hi, guys! Looking for a little help and appreciate your patience and input.

As the title indicates, I'm a novice to stereo installation. I'm looking to do a simple 2 speaker and amp upgrade, and hoping to self install same in my '07 Road Glide. I mostly listen to classic rock and blues via iPod or from my phone through an MPOW Bluetooth receiver plugged into the auxiliary port on the stock HK HU.

I'm not really comfortable with the idea of tuning and tweaking an amp, or fiddling with more complicated component speakers and crossover installations.

I've been reading and researching here and another forum, but would like some feedback prior to purchasing. Initially was leaning towards Biketronics 2180 kit with Titan II 7.1 speakers. I like that the amp is tried and true and plug and play, and don't mind paying a bit more for the ease of installation. I'm a bit concerned about the many comments about those speakers being overly 'bright' and harsh sounding. Not what I'm looking for. A lot of recommendations on the WDX6 Motos, but haven't been able to find any vids playing those alone, and vids aren't always the best way to review speakers anyway. Any other suggestions?

​​​​​​Budget is $900 all in. Would need speaker adapters and an amp mount as well.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by ZX2BY2U; 03-12-2018 at 04:23 PM.
Old 03-12-2018, 04:26 PM
JMC22
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 328 Likes on 243 Posts

While I have a Street Glide and not sure if what fits in my SG will fit in your RG - what I will tell you is that there are a lot of great guys here that will help you thru your final choice project - that being said, don't talk yourself out of a project or components.