Carburetor Related Find discussions on carburetor related goodies here. Swap and trades? Rebuild information and tuning for the pre EFI systems.

Did I ruin my CV carb with carb cleaner?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2016, 08:33 AM
Alveus
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Did I ruin my CV carb with carb cleaner?

OK, so I'm a newbie to HD, so flame me if necessary. Yesterday, I pulled my CV carb on my 2000 WG to give it a good cleaning. Bike was running fine, but the carb had never been cleaned. All went well. I pulled it apart, and gave it a cleaning with carb cleaner. All looked pretty good inside. Then, after the fact, I figured I'd read the shop manual to see if I missed anything (I know, bad idea doing this AFTER the job). There I read the following:

CAUTION
The carburetor body is equipped with plastic parts that cannot be removed. Do not dip the carburetor body, O-rings, float assembly, needle valve or vacuum piston in a carburetor cleaner or other harsh solution that can damage these parts. The use of a caustic carburetor cleaning solvent is not recommended. Instead, clean the carburetor and related parts in a petroleum-based solvent, or Simple Green. Then rinse in clean water.

Did I ruin all my O-rings and plastic parts by cleaning with carb cleaner? I was careful not to get any on the slider diaphragm, but was pretty generous with it elsewhere.

Last edited by Alveus; 12-31-2016 at 09:05 AM.
Old 12-31-2016, 10:19 AM
skinman13
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 234 Likes on 169 Posts

I doubt that you damaged or compromised the metal parts just by dipping your carb and any o-rings, gaskets, or diaphragms you may have damaged can be easily replaced. Get a rebuild kit and mixture screw packing kit and replace them all...and if your fuel inlet fitting is plastic, replace it also. You can find all the parts you need here. http://cv-performance.com/harley-cv-carburetor-parts

Good luck.

Old 12-31-2016, 10:34 AM
bad tappets
Road Warrior