Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 12:09 PM
Ramirez Troy
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!

My brother and I recently swapped out my forward controls to his mid controls. He has a '17 street bob, and I have a '13 street bob. We did everything by the book, and now we both have oil leaks coming from the bottom. Well, we didn't follow everything by the book; we didn't do the sequence when torquing down the inner primary and outer primary. Im a little new to this and would like to know your thoughts. Also, I dont know if it would be the gasket for the outer primary??? But both of our bikes are leaking. I can understand if just one bike was, but both of them are. Im going to attach some pictures and would love your guys input. The gasket seems to be sticking out on the top of the outer primary, too. Not a lot, but noticeable.

Attached Thumbnails Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!-img_1476.png   Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!-img_1473.png   Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!-img_1474.png   Primary oil leak! Help!!!!!-img_1475.png  
Old 04-25-2017, 12:30 PM
freashman06
Novice

Replace the tower gasket?

Old 04-25-2017, 12:30 PM
Mikes145
Road Captain
Received 151 Likes on 102 Posts

Take it apart, possibly get a new gasket that you may have damaged, and put it together the correct way without damaging the gasket. That's just my guess, but I'm not a mechanic. Oh, and torque it down.

Old 04-25-2017, 12:31 PM
FXD2003Rider
Administrator Emeritus

Received 867 Likes on 576 Posts

Try to find out where the oil comes from.
If there is no oil inbetween the gearbox and the inside part of the primary cover IMO it could be a gasket problem.

FYI see my primary issues I had some time ago