Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 Low Rider rear shock advise.

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2018, 05:11 AM
kbowley
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Low Rider rear shock advise.

I am considering options to upgrade the ride on my 04 FXDLI which currently has the stockers, the bike has 7,200 miles on it and I feel there are better options for the rear suspension. So, with that said, I have heard that the rear shocks on the FXDF are substantially better than what comes on the Low Rider, that's my first option. They look sharp and can be had used at very reasonable prices. My second option are the Burley 12.5" shocks with the two stage springs. They are a great idea in design but do they truly improve the ride? I appreciate all feedback in advance and I am a newbie here so be gentle on me
Kevin

Last edited by kbowley; 11-20-2018 at 05:14 AM. Reason: title
Old 11-20-2018, 05:15 AM
rs1250xl
Cruiser
Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

There are many options, however you need to provide a budget and some realistic riding expectations as some rear shocks can exceed the $1K mark.

Old 11-20-2018, 05:39 AM
cggorman
Extreme HDF Member
Received 2,291 Likes on 1,710 Posts

Sounds like you're on a budget? People seem to like the 4xx series Progressives. I don't think I'd expect a measurable difference from any stock swap but if you can get them REALLY cheap, maybe worth trying just to get something that isn't 15 years old and tired.

The following users liked this post:
kbowley (11-20-2018)
Old 11-20-2018, 07:13 AM
kbowley
Novice