Notices
Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

Tuner for 2/1 exhaust?

 
  #31  
Old 01-13-2019, 06:52 AM
Bob_fxdb
Bob_fxdb is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 275
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

YEah but you cant compare a regular auto tune with proper dyno tune... the tune that you get wont be as good. Of course a proper tuner is worth the money in my mind, i own a pv, but a good dyno tune to add on the tuner is the best combination. In the OP's situation, he said that he wont do anything after the 2-1 exhaust, so why have a tuner on his bike, or in his drawer or what not, and not actually use it for what it is worth? So thats why i suggested to do a dyno tune.

It may be not the best solution for everybody, but for someone it may be the most convenient and cheapest option. I always think about engine upgrades and like to test out parts, so it is good to have a pv to be able to tune and tweak the numbers. Good thing about the pv is that I can read the data also and monitor the engine.
 

Last edited by Bob_fxdb; 01-13-2019 at 07:11 AM.
  #32  
Old 01-14-2019, 02:08 PM
kcfocust
kcfocust is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 318
Received 72 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

I have the FP3 as well. My bike came with short shots and had a horrible decel pop. V&H Exhaust made it easy to tune it correctly to what I have.

Flash forward and now I'm running Samson Street Sweepers. While not in the Manufacturer Maps, I ended up running the V&H Big Shots map on it. V&H said to run it a tank or two and if I needed adjustment to do the auto tune. Bike runs great as is so I have not auto tuned. Once I change the baffles out, that might change.
 
  #33  
Old 01-14-2019, 08:03 PM
crusader1xxx's Avatar
crusader1xxx
crusader1xxx is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wainwright, Alberta
Posts: 984
Received 154 Likes on 135 Posts
Default

I run the power vision on both my dyna’s and found it very easy to use, easy to read and the fact I can check and clear codes is a real bonus. I also love the fact you can watch it in real time and see what your motor is doing.

I have no experience with the FP3 but have heard good and bad about it...not sure if the bad is the unit itself or the operator but a google search will tell you...
 
  #34  
Old 01-15-2019, 08:34 PM
neverstockjp's Avatar
neverstockjp
neverstockjp is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Posts: 55
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

looks like Iíll be getting the FP3 V&H because itís small and can be tucked away easily. Power vision is probably the cats a$$ but as I mentioned before I wonít be going further than stage one anyway. I already relocated my speedometer on handlebar and I donít wants more screen mounted on bars it looks to busy for my liking. And last but not least thanks everyone who contributed to this post I really appreciate everybody honest opinion.
time to order tuner and pipes now!
JP
 

Last edited by neverstockjp; 01-15-2019 at 08:36 PM.
  #35  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:03 AM
Notgrownup's Avatar
Notgrownup
Notgrownup is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 15,898
Received 706 Likes on 563 Posts
Default

Me as long as the unit is not married to the bike and you can take to another if you trade, that is what counts. Started with a Power Commander 3 and then won a Power Commander 5 and auto tune...Got rid of the auto tune....I run a proven map to match my Fuelmoto pipes that they provided.
 

Last edited by Notgrownup; 01-16-2019 at 07:04 AM.
  #36  
Old 01-20-2019, 07:45 PM
Bob_fxdb
Bob_fxdb is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oslo
Posts: 275
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by neverstockjp View Post
looks like Iíll be getting the FP3 V&H because itís small and can be tucked away easily. Power vision is probably the cats a$$ but as I mentioned before I wonít be going further than stage one anyway. I already relocated my speedometer on handlebar and I donít wants more screen mounted on bars it looks to busy for my liking. And last but not least thanks everyone who contributed to this post I really appreciate everybody honest opinion.
time to order tuner and pipes now!
JP
Good for you, but just a fyi, pv and fp3 cost the same new, 399, and you dont need to have the pv connected. I dont know if the fp3 have to be connected all the time. You for sure will get more money worth of one of them.
 

Last edited by Bob_fxdb; 01-20-2019 at 07:47 PM.
  #37  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:44 AM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: .
Posts: 1,126
Received 112 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

The FP3 can be removed after it has been used to download the map.

It has some features though for showing outputs from the different sensors and trouble codes.

On my bike I am able to tuck it between the battery and ECU so I have left it connected.
 
  #38  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:55 AM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: .
Posts: 1,126
Received 112 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

my bad, i meant the FP3 will drain your motorcycle battery.
With all tuners there will be times when it needs to be used with the engine stopped to apply a tune to the ecu. So long as you don't have the ignition on for longer than is necessary you will be fine with any tuner.

It is unfortunate that the lights cannot be turned off to conserve the battery.
 
  #39  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:35 AM
splattttttt's Avatar
splattttttt
splattttttt is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MASS_hole
Posts: 5,154
Received 316 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

I never noticed the fp3 lights on with my wife’s xbones while the ignition was in the iff oosition.
I was always under the impression the app was how it turned on an off despite of it being hooked up.
An fp3 marries to a vin number so keeping it in the bike’s a good idea. Never worry about loosing it. And when the bike is sold or stolen, its there with it
 
  #40  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:43 AM
Andy from Sandy
Andy from Sandy is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: .
Posts: 1,126
Received 112 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

I meant the bikes lights. lol. when do a map download.
 

Last edited by Andy from Sandy; 01-21-2019 at 07:44 AM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: