Tech said to remove O2 sensors with fuel pak - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Reload this Page >

Tech said to remove O2 sensors with fuel pak

Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.

Tech said to remove O2 sensors with fuel pak

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 03-25-2011, 01:51 PM
neocontra
neocontra is offline
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 476
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Tech said to remove O2 sensors with fuel pak

I spoke to a Vance and Hines tech earlier as I had a question about closed loop operation. He said that the fuel pak will only work and modify fuel in open loop. In closed loop, it does nothing whatsoever.

He went on to ask me whether I lived in California. When I said no, he replied that I should pull the 02 sensors and that the fuel pak would then control the closed loop tables. I asked if that was a good idea, in his opinion, and he replied yes and that the bike would run much better with the map in the fuel pak.

Has anyone else heard this? or tried this?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2011, 02:01 PM
nevil's Avatar
nevil
nevil is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: southeast PA
Posts: 6,624
Thanked 216 Times in 193 Posts
Default

Never heard that one, maybe someone else here has. I didn't think that the Fuel Pak controls your AFRs, so how would the ECM know how to respond to varying conditions? I had one of those on my bike a couple of years ago and had plenty of discussions with the V&H techs. Nobody ever suggested to disconnect the O2 sensors.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2011, 02:03 PM
jaysonL's Avatar
jaysonL
jaysonL is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pa.
Posts: 4,606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Default

That's new to me too....
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2011, 02:29 PM
hddan502's Avatar
hddan502
hddan502 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 1,106
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I have the PCIII, I gave the O2 sensors to Waste Management.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2011, 03:28 PM
Joe376's Avatar
Joe376
Joe376 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the PC3 and ran with no O2s for a while but the PC3 also came with “O2 eliminators”.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2011, 03:30 PM
jshull's Avatar
jshull
jshull is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Odessa Mo
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i ran the fuel pak and I kept the o2 sensors, the pcv I have now I trashed the 02 sensors also. I was lied to more than once at vance and hines so decided to move on. I think alot of times they talk out of their ****....
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2011, 03:32 PM
neocontra
neocontra is offline
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 476
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was a little surprised when he said it as well...I made sure to ask again and he said the bike would run better without them using the fuel pak, and that the values they entered would then cover the closed loop portion.

Sounded fishy to me, and I've never heard a single person mention this either.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2011, 05:29 PM
jaysonL's Avatar
jaysonL
jaysonL is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pa.
Posts: 4,606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Call them back and speak to a different rep. See if you get a different answer .
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:18 PM
lucy brown
lucy brown is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had my indy install my PC5. My O2 sensors got **** canned. Not sure if it's required or not. I never got to read the installation instructions.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2011, 07:08 PM
neocontra
neocontra is offline
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 476
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jaysonL View Post
Call them back and speak to a different rep. See if you get a different answer .
I think there is only 1 guy there.
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tech said to remove O2 sensors with fuel pak


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: