Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

01 FXDL Turn Signal wiring

Old 02-15-2012, 03:52 PM
justmealwatts
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Thumbs up 01 FXDL Turn Signal wiring

I'm new to the Dyna family. As of this moment, I do not have a service manual for my year bike but I have a few questions.

I'm in the process of doing a few things to my 2001 FXDL. Moving the front turn signals down to the fork tubes was on my list today. I removed the gas tank to make things easier and to clean up a little. I figure that I'd just unplug the turn signal wiring harness, etc... but the wires just go into the neck in the frame and there isn't a plug to work with. The same goes for the handlebar controls. The bike is stock but the wires have been cut and soldered at some point about 6 inches out of the neck.

I know that it's possible for the connectors to be shoved down in that little hole in the neck but I'm not going to start jerking on the wires until I get some advice. I have a wiring diagram and it's showing a 6 pin connector for the turn signals but it's obviously not visible.

Thanks!!!

Old 02-15-2012, 05:30 PM
Robtarra39
Road Warrior
Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts

Before you yank on the wires, you will need to remove the back wheel, yes the back wheel, then you will see a plastic square plug about 2x2 in size , remove that , inside you will see your harness, it may be tied up with a plastic tie wrap, remove the tiewrap, now you can pull the harness out of the neck, it helps if you have someone push on the harness as you pull it forward, i have attached a pic of what this looks like.

Attached Thumbnails 01 FXDL Turn Signal wiring-dscf0015_jpg.jpg  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:11 PM
justmealwatts
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Thumbs up

Thanks Robtarra39,