Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Dyna Glide Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/dyna-glide-models-9/)
-   -   Question about installing new pipes (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/dyna-glide-models/946277-question-about-installing-new-pipes.html)

usmc02127 03-06-2014 04:18 PM

Question about installing new pipes

I currently have V&H StraightShots on my 2000 FxDX and will be installing a set of black 2:1 Supertrapp Supermegs. This is my first time exhaust install, is there anything I should be aware of or need (gaskets, sealant, ect) ? Or should it bolt right up? And do you think I'll need a carb ajustment after as well?
Thanks in advance.

DYNAM1C 03-06-2014 05:21 PM

you want new gaskets for sure, and definitely a carb adjustment if ur going from a 2:2 to a 2:1...

something id recommend is having another set of hands helping you out. I scraped the fins on my jugs trying to put my thunderheaders on by myself.

Cheeto 03-06-2014 09:22 PM

Originally Posted by DYNAM1C (Post 12407693)
you want new gaskets for sure, and definitely a carb adjustment if ur going from a 2:2 to a 2:1...

something id recommend is having another set of hands helping you out. I scraped the fins on my jugs trying to put my thunderheaders on by myself.

I second having an extra set of hands around. Pretty much every black pipe I've seen scratches if you just look at it wrong and it can be awkward trying to maneuver the pipes without bumping pegs, frame, jugs, etc.

KEYBEAR 03-06-2014 10:00 PM

Change pipes with the engine cold spray the exhaust bolts well with penetrating oil the night before . ( not WD-40) Do not over tighten The Exhaust bolts (very important) Also check bolts after a week or so but don,t over tighten .

maddghost 03-07-2014 07:39 AM

Originally Posted by KEYBEAR (Post 12408902)