Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Fluctuating voltage, but no no-charging warning light

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2017, 12:44 PM
Sauraus
Advanced
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Fluctuating voltage, but no no-charging warning light

Hi folks,

I have the following situation on my 2013 FLHX.

After riding the bike, I always put it on a HD battery tender and I notice the indicator light going from yellow to green within a minute or two, and the bike also starts without hesitation while out riding, which makes me believe that my battery is being charged properly while riding.

However until a few days ago when starting the bike sometimes the voltage indicator would stay at 12V and when I started riding the no-charging warning light came on after a minute or so. If I turned the bike off and waited a few seconds and then started again the voltage meter would often jump up to around 15V and all was good, sometimes I had to turn the bike off and on a couple of times until the voltage meter showed 15V, but once it did it would stay at 15V for the entire ride.

Since this weekend however the situation has changed in that now, the voltage meter will sometimes stay at 12V when I start the bike, but when I start riding it will fix itself and get up to 15V. Unfortunately what happens next is that in the middle of the ride, the voltage will drop to 12V and remain there for several minutes however the no-charging warning light does not come on and the voltage autocorrects to 15V again.

I also believe to have noticed there to be a correlation between RPMs and the voltage drop off and recovery, if I keep the bike at 3000rpm or above the voltage drop off does not occur as frequent as when I have the bike below 3000rpm but this could be completely circumstantial and have nothing to do with anything.