Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

How does one calculate available power?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2017, 01:44 PM
Will Belden
Tourer
Received 52 Likes on 46 Posts
Question How does one calculate available power?

Closing the deal on a 2016 HD Heritage Softail Classic. I have plans! And you know what they say about the road to hell being paved with.

I'm a computer programmer, but I'm not an electrician (or a mechanic). Clearly I know what you can certainly overdraw the available power in a system, but what I don't know -- how to calculate that information in advance.

Stock specs for this bike say that the system puts out 439 watts at 13 volts. Okay, good starting place. But various components (headlight, fuel pump, etc.) obviously utilize some of that juice thereby decreasing the available power and I really don't have the specs on those individual components or even a list of all the items that might be utilizing power like the EFI computer, etc.

Is there a way to measure the currently used power of the bike before adding additional electronics to it? For example (and this is a complete guess), if the bike produces 439 watts, how do you measure that the running bike is currently drawing 250 watts leaving the calculated 189 watts available? Then, as I decided to add anything (LED lights, phone charger, camera system) I can use the specs on those to determine the additional draw.

I remember watching Apollo 13 where Gary Sinise is using the capsule's duplicate (and spouting amperage numbers) to determine that there was only (x) available power for the guys up in space to utilize, and required shutting this and that off first.