03 Heritage Horn - Harley Davidson Forums



Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

03 Heritage Horn

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-12-2018, 05:10 PM
bjarnold1 bjarnold1 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: ID
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 03 Heritage Horn

I recently bought a 2003 Heritage Softail and I'm trying to track down an electrical gremlin. The horn stays on. I checked the wiring going to the horn and it has continuity with and without the horn button depressed. So I'm assuming it's either the switch or a broken wire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2018, 05:17 PM
Hoginedgewood Hoginedgewood is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ky
Posts: 317
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
Default

A broken wire would be no horn. Check a service manual but I donít think thereís a relay, probably a button wore out, unless it has an aftermarket configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2018, 08:44 AM
Vernal's Avatar
Vernal Vernal is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,047
Thanked 264 Times in 222 Posts
Default

Welcome to the forum.
I don't have schematics for your bike but I believe the horn switch gets power from the Accessory fuse on a Orange/white wire. From the switch the Yellow/Black wire goes to the horn and from the horn to grd is black.

If you mean you have continuity going through the switch then you know what the problem is. If not pull the connector going to the left hand switch pack and check those 2 wires to confirm the switch is stuck.

Last edited by Vernal; 01-13-2018 at 08:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2018, 07:30 AM
grbrown's Avatar
grbrown grbrown is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 37,727
Thanked 997 Times in 924 Posts
Default

Was it OK when you first got the bike and if so have you done any mods or work to it? A common problem is trapping wires when refitting the handlebar switches, so you may simply have a trapped and damage wire. The horn button could be stuck or defective.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2018, 02:37 PM
bjarnold1 bjarnold1 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: ID
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure the horn wires were disconnected when I bought bike. The previous owner did install chrome housings and buttons so something may have been damaged during installation
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Horn minusdan Sportster Models 1 07-27-2017 03:47 AM
Air Horn PDawgWms Touring Models 7 06-26-2017 11:27 AM
I'm Horn-y aqua754 Touring Models 7 06-02-2017 09:03 AM
Air horn recommendation for 2017 Breakout please? Lonely Drifter on a Harley Breakout Softail Models 6 05-02-2017 11:40 PM
Color of wire for horn rquest Softail Models 1 03-18-2017 03:21 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: