Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

04 sportster speedometer not working. Please help

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2018, 09:06 PM
avasquez097
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default 04 sportster speedometer not working. Please help

hey guys. So to explain a little bit, it rained for a few days so I did not ride my bike. It sat for three days. 2004 883c almost 30k miles, when I turned the key to on, I noticed the whole Speedometer did not turn on, the bike started up fine and all the lights worked, just no Speedo or odemeter. The needle doesn’t work either. I rode it to work like that and after work I turned the key on and then everything worked fine, but as soon as I started riding it all turned off again. It’s turns off and on now but when I ride it’s just off. I had this posted on the sporstser forum but was advised to move it here. I replaced the speed sensor but that did not fix the problem. Also I should add about two weeks ago I had the dealer fix some wiring for my turn signals, I’m not sure if that would be the cause? My only other thought would be the whole speedometer unit itself but I’m not sure if that happens often

Last edited by avasquez097; 12-08-2018 at 09:39 PM.
Old 12-08-2018, 09:07 PM
avasquez097
Advanced

Also my turn signals will flash every other time I start the bike. And I’ll hear a buzzing sound from the speedometer

Old 12-09-2018, 08:20 PM
Zanthamos
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 431 Likes on 360 Posts