Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

08 Rocker slow starting!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 06:24 PM
sgod1100
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08 Rocker slow starting!!

Let me start off with saying I'm completely retarded when it comes to electrical problems (hence why I'm a mechanical engineer...lol). Anyway, a few months ago my started to turn over very slowly, once it started it was running perfectly fine. I thought my battery was going bad so i bought a new ballistic battery ( one of those batteries that is very small and weighs only 2.5lbs)

The new battery didn't help. So, the next thing i did was test the stator-tested Volts (AC), resistance between each of the plugs, and continuity. Everything checked out fine. I figured this due to me be able to ride around all day without my battery draining.

The next thing i went to was the voltage regulator. I unplugged the stator from the voltage regulator to do the bleed down test. I know you are suppose to use a test light for this but i used a voltage meter instead. I test each prong(3 of them) and all of them showed 11-12 volts!! bingo, problem solved right? nope, i bought a new voltage regulator and installed it today and did a bleed down test. To my surprise i still get 11-12 volts! i do have the plug that goes from the voltage regulator to the battery plugged in when i do this

I'm stumped at this point. I thought that if you got any voltage on the stator side of the voltage regulator it was bad, but that doesn't make any sense since my new one shows votage too!

The bike still runs fine when it gets started. I have a dakota digital gauge that shows battery voltage-its right around 13.8-14.0V while running and stays right around there when cruising around town.