Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

More confused than ever...head gasket question

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2016, 09:47 AM
are6rider
Intermediate
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default More confused than ever...head gasket question

OK, I'd like to consider myself having an intermediate level of engine building knowledge as I'm a large diesel engine mechanic by trade and have done plenty of hot-rodding in my day, so I'd like to think I got the fundamentals of general engine building. However, I'm doing my first HD Twin Cam engine build so looking at getting some expert advice from all you wonderful folk.

Anyway, I'm converting my 2014 FXDB 103" to an S&S 106" using their big bore kit. Now, I'm also slightly bumping my compression so I'm going with a .030 head gasket. My issue is with which gasket to go with. According to the S&S literature in their catalog and website, S&S PN 900-0216 is the .030 gasket for their 106" which has a bore of 3.927". So I order that from a local vendor and when I receive it, I get a Cometic MLS gasket. Spoke to S&S and they said with the .030 gaskets, they just use Cometic instead of their own in-house brand. I'm fine with that as I like Cometic anyway. Well the problem comes up when I see the label on the gasket which has no S&S PN but has a Cometic PN of C9721 and says it's for the 3.875" bore (which is the stock 103" bore size). I started wondering if I may have gotten the wrong gasket as in my experience, it's preferred to NOT have the gasket protrude into the cylinder, which it would in this case were I to use this gasket. I've measured with my caliper micrometer and that is the case here.