Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Cam Tensioners 2013 103

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2016, 11:11 AM
HDJaco
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cam Tensioners 2013 103

Is a visual inspection the only way to know the tensioners are going bad? Will there be any noises associated with these things wearing down? My bike has 33,000 miles on it and just recently developed a noise when the motor is first started that goes away after about ten minutes of running. Harley mechanics blamed it on Amsoil 20/50 and said the lifter(s) is draining down do to the thin oil. Their explanation does not seem right being as I have been running the same oil for 32000 miles without the noise...

Old 04-27-2016, 11:17 AM
nwbob2000
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no expert but it seems to me that if it was the lifters they would be filling up in seconds, not minutes. After changing the oil and filter you can hear lifter noise, then it disappears rather quickly.

Old 04-27-2016, 02:01 PM
djl
HDF Community Team

Received 2,030 Likes on 1,498 Posts

Originally Posted by HDJaco
Is a visual inspection the only way to know the tensioners are going bad? Will there be any noises associated with these things wearing down? My bike has 33,000 miles on it and just recently developed a noise when the motor is first started that goes away after about ten minutes of running. Harley mechanics blamed it on Amsoil 20/50 and said the lifter(s) is draining down do to the thin oil. Their explanation does not seem right being as I have been running the same oil for 32000 miles without the noise...