Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Another VT noise thread after cam upgrade

Old 02-09-2018, 05:54 PM
barrygreen
Elite HDF Member
Received 360 Likes on 211 Posts
Default Another VT noise thread after cam upgrade

Just upgraded my 2014 103 to the CR570-2 cams. Getting valve train noise. I have the S&S Premium Lifters, also did the Zippers dual piston chain tensioners along with the Axtell oil bypass valve and SE Adjustable push rods set at 3 turns. So it may just be me but I have engine noise...Valve Train and a cam chest rattle at idle, sometimes.
I have readjusted the push rods 3 times. It just does not sound right to me. It has been in the 40's to 60's here and the oil pressure is at lowest 17, highest 42. I am a retired tech of 45 years and not afraid to ask but it seems or sounds like a oiling issue. I will be taking it apart and looking but I suspect the oil bypass valve....when I installed it I barely had to push on the spring spacer to install the pin. At this point I am thinking IF I HAVE TO TEAR IT DOWN AGAIN to replace the plate and pump also to a upgraded set.
Bike runs fantastic, Really like the cams, lots of TQ throughout the RPM range but the noise is more than stock . I know you get noise from different cam ramp design and I am setting on top of a engine but it just does not seem right.
Any input is appreciated. I have put about 300 on the new cams and its still together, hit the rev limiter a couple of times...

Last edited by barrygreen; 02-09-2018 at 05:58 PM.
Old 02-09-2018, 08:56 PM
Ed Ramberger
Stellar HDF Member
Received 887 Likes on 621 Posts