Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

White smoke after top end rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2018, 05:40 PM
cklapd
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default White smoke after top end rebuild

I'm new to this so please forgive me if this has already been discussed somewhere. I have a 1991 Heritage softail that is essentially stock, but has an Andrews cam (Can't remember which one), The bike has about 14,000 miles as it sat for many years. I started riding again about 6 months ago and it ran good, but I had a Intake manifold leak and a base gasket in the rear cylinder leak. I got a wild hair up my *** one day and took both heads, cylinders off and replaced all the gaskets. i didn't do a compression test beforehand. After all is said and done, I put everything back together and started it today. I ran pretty darn good. As it warmed tho, I started noticing white smoke come from the engine and out the tail pipes, The rear cylinder has more smoke then the front. I didn't replace the piston rings or take the valves out of the head while it was apart. The white smoke concerns me as it never did that before. After reading several threads, I did a compression test and the front cylinder was 155 PSI, then with some oil about 160 PSI. The rear was about 150 PSI, then 160 PSI with oil. How do I read these results? Does the white smoke tell me to replace the rings, valves, or is it normal to have white smoke for a while after a top end rebuild?

Old 06-16-2018, 08:42 PM
bustert
Grand HDF Member
Received 714 Likes on 625 Posts

technically you did not rebuild it.
how heavy is the smoke? it could be normal depending upon ambient.
could be a head gasket leak. white is usually unburned fuel or fuel that did not combust properly, normal combustion does produce water vapor also.