Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

W6 cam 10:1 compression questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2018, 08:42 PM
SlickSoftail
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default W6 cam 10:1 compression questions

First off I'll say Hi as this is my first post. I've used this forum for years for research and help by reading more than I'll remember. My background is as a Diesel mechanic, working on Semis, Dumptrucks, Tractors and the likes. So yes I have knowledge and tools but not an expert on Harley's. Been riding for years and have rebuilt my bikes many times but never got into heavy modification and that is what leads me to finally post.
The bike is a 97 Heritage (slimmed down), rebuilt heads, .020" bore, SE42 mik carb, SE ignition, 2-1 pipe, hypercharger intake, EV27 cam. I love the bike, it has served me well but I ride aggressive, and ready to up it in power to fit my riding style.
I have spent hours reading posts, comments, and opinions but alas, I need your help.
Looking to get heads ported and milled (currently stock), Woods W6 cam, get CR to 10:1, another .010" hone in the cylinders.
Now what is the best way to achieve the 10:1 CR for this motor? I'm trying to stay as close to flattop pistons as possible, I don't want to just throw in huge dome pistons, but I can also only mill the heads to the extreme of .060" (which I'd rather not do that much), with cometic thin gasket gets me somewhere around 9.5:1-9.8:1.
So do I mill .030"-.040" and thin gasket with a small pop up pistons? My head is filled with measurements, valve lifts, cam specs etc and I just need an outside opinion at this point.
Been in talks with Hillside Cycles a little and also have Short Block Charlie only 1 hour away from me. Just a matter of pulling the trigger on the right setup.
HELP?!

Old 10-15-2018, 02:37 AM
BB.No8
Tourer