Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Oil leak diag help

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2019, 08:56 PM
Kburgad
Tourer
Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Oil leak diag help

So this winter I had the upper and lower rockers off. Had cam cover and tappet blocks off, now I've got an oil leak from bottom of the cylinders off both sides of the engine case, mostly the left side, cleaned it several times. Seems to be the front cylinder base gasket. Ive heard that head gasket leaks can drain down the bolts and look like a base gasket. There is no oil at the top of the engine at all. I'm an auto tech so I just dont get how it started leaking when I had the rockers off. Nor can I understand how to diagnose the leak.
Its on my 2009 road glide with 106 S&S big bore kit installed for over 4 years now,
Any help you guys can give me would be awesome.

Old 07-11-2019, 07:11 PM
djl
HDF Community Team

Received 2,030 Likes on 1,498 Posts

Clean everything up and look closer for the source of he leak, particularly the tappet block gaskets. After four years, it is unlikely that the cylinder base o-rings started leaking. I suspect with closer inspection you will find the leak elsewhere.

Old 07-11-2019, 07:47 PM
ntraindavefl
Road Warrior
Received 333 Likes on 234 Posts

If you lay long rubber patches out of parking lots or before bike is up to operating temp the base oring or base gasket can be breached, just taking a stab at a cause 4 yrs post build. Even knowing better I’ve made this mistake

Old 07-12-2019, 06:44 AM
Kburgad
Tourer

Originally Posted by djl
Clean everything up and look closer for the source of he leak, particularly the tappet block gaskets. After four years, it is unlikely that the cylinder base o-rings started leaking. I suspect with closer inspection you will find the leak elsewhere.