Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Engine Mechanical Topics (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/engine-mechanical-topics-46/)
-   -   88" Cam Opinions (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/engine-mechanical-topics/1311961-88-cam-opinions.html)

Prodigal_Sun 12-27-2019 07:05 PM

88" Cam Opinions

I have an '03 Stage 1 88" fxdwg with open k&n air filter housing, 2 into 2 short exhausts. Stage 1 was done by dealer for previous owner so I'm assuming a jet kit was installed at the same time. It has just over 20,000 miles so I plan on inspecting tensioner shoes and likely replacing them with the CYCO ones if it hasn't already been done. While it's apart I'm thinking I may as well do the cam and bearings. I have some experience wrenching so I'm not too squeamish about doing it myself.

I'm not looking for high hp numbers or a wild top end. I've had sportbikes and if I wanted that I'd get another. I am looking to make low end torque, and a wide powerband, with a low idle, and if I can get better mileage out of it, all the better. I'm not overly concerned about emissions, as long as I'm not fouling plugs I figure the trees should be safe enough. I want to keep everything else as stock as possible in order not to mess with the inherent factory reliability. I intend to go to taller final drive because I like the lazy feeling of a motor barely working, but I want that surge of power on tap. Should probably sound deeper and rumblier than stock without getting too over the top. I'm 6' 230lbs and do 95% of my riding solo, in and out of town. My wife rides along once and a while she's about 115.