EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Loose lifter guide block

Old 09-11-2016, 09:27 PM
yellowstone kelly
Tourer
Received 101 Likes on 72 Posts
Default Loose lifter guide block

Evo newbie here.

Bought my first big Harley, a '96 Heritage Classic, this past May. Bike had 34k on the clock then, it has about 37k on it now. I bought it from a buddy back home who always took it in to local shop when it needed work. He was the second owner and couldn't tell me much about what all the bike's had done to it over the years.

I've ridden it all summer with no problems of any kind. It's been running great and has been completely oil tight, no leaks of any kind.

Went for a 100-mile ride this evening. Was heading home and got to within a few miles of home and noticed a new knocking sound when I'd let off on the throttle (my pipes are pretty loud, I didn't notice any new noises while running down the road, and it was running as good as ever.)

Got home and pulled into my garage. Left it running and turned the garage lights on to see if I could tell where the knocking noise was coming from. Was freaking shocked to see the rear lifter guide block bouncing up and down about 1/16 of an inch, with oil pouring out from under it!!! All four bolts appear to have come loose during today's ride.

In reading online, I'm seeing this is a somewhat common problem. I know I need to get a 12-point socket to tighten the loose bolts. And I should probably get the alignment tool to make sure I get the lifter block and gasket in the right place.

What all should I check once I get the loose bolts tightened back up (with blue locktite on the cleaned threads)? The bike was still running great and sounded the same (except for the knock) when I got home. What are the chances something got damaged while it was knocking around?

Any info and advice will be greatly appreciated. I've got the FSM for the bike, and access to an online parts breakdown.