EVO All Evo Model Discussion

1986 FLT transformation

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2016, 09:23 AM
Rowansdad
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986 FLT transformation

I recently acquired a 1986 Harley Tour Glide. She has 43k on the clock with a supposed 15k on a motor. The only thing I know is that the engine doesn't have the same vin as the bike so I know it is a replacement engine. The mileage though is just what I am being told from the previous owner. The bike ran great but it was hacked together. The wiring was all butt connectors and things left not right or torqued down. It has since gotten cold here in the north east so I've decided to pull her apart and get rid of the shitty spray balm primary and engine paint job and all other hack work that had been done previously to this bike. (This is my first non crotch rocket bike and repair so im completely new to this.) I have pulled the harness off the back along with all the front fairing and the engine. I've cleaned it up with degreaser and it's back in the garage waiting for me to do something. This is where you guys come in. I can't decide if I should clean the old 80ci motor or go bigger. If I go bigger should I go all new or just top end. The transmission seemed ok but didn't like to go into 5th over 4K rpm. So I am going to pull that off as well and I'm not sure if I should check the forks for wear or just buy a replacement. The last thing is now that I've gone this far should I just sand blast the frame and start over lol? There is always one more thing I guess, does anyone know where I can get a detailed wiring diagram so I can use it to buy the correct size wire and colors to build a harness?

Old 12-03-2016, 09:10 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,706 Likes on 1,343 Posts

86 frames were painted. The later ones were powder coated.

You need the official HD Factory shop manual. It has all the schematics, etc., in it. You did pretty good to get that deep into it without a FSM.