Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   EVO (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/evo-84/)
-   -   Am I wrong to consider buying a 1993 Dyna Low Rider over a newer one? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/evo/1228654-am-i-wrong-to-consider-buying-a-1993-dyna-low-rider-over-a-newer-one.html)

WilllyD 04-16-2018 10:18 PM

Am I wrong to consider buying a 1993 Dyna Low Rider over a newer one?

I found a beautiful 1993 Dyna Low Rider in the color red. It has 22,500 miles, and he's asking $5,400. I'm not a mechanic, but I know an indy who works on Harleys. Are most parts available at a Harley dealer? Thank you.

Prot 04-16-2018 10:22 PM

You are in Canada, so things might be different but stateside, parts are readily available, both OEM and aftermarket, especially in the Internet age.

Mattbastard 04-17-2018 12:09 AM

Yea, I wouldn't worry about it. If anything, Ronnie's mail order parts can fill what your dealer can't.

BTW, I would do exactly what you're thinking. Last fall I was waffling between a broken down 1994 Electra Glide for $2000 with a cracked case, or a left over 2017 Road Glide. I bought the 94, primarily because I could make it faster than an M8, and I like working on bikes.

saltlick 04-17-2018 12:19 AM

I got a 10 year old bike on purpose. They don’t make them like they use to, I would never buy one of the new ones, those to me aren’t Harley’s.

grbrown 04-17-2018 03:25 AM

Originally Posted by WilllyD (Post 17281777)
I found a beautiful 1993 Dyna Low Rider in the color red. It has 22,500 miles, and he's asking $5,400. I'm not a mechanic, but I know an indy who works on Harleys. Are most parts available at a Harley dealer? Thank you.