Is this the right bike?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2019, 06:39 AM
SJT
Cruiser
Received 59 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Is this the right bike?

Greetings,

So I have been missing a motorcycle since I sold my 2001 Sportster 1200 4-5 years ago. It wasn't until recently that I was in a position to get another. I found the '86 FXWD (Not a Dyna) in the images below at the local Harley shop for $6495 and was apprehensive as to the reliability of aforementioned bike. I am looking for something to ride regular and not looking to have problems. The bike appears to be well kept and starts easy with the kick-start.

The shop agreed to repair the following:

Rocker gasket showing
Base leaks
Primary flash transfer leak
Fuel crossover routed incorrectly
Dipstick coming apart
Front Brake light inoperable
High beam indicator inoperable
Both tires Michelin

All the above was completed with the exception of the base gasket. They told me it would be an additional $900 to have that work performed but it wasn't pertinent because the seepage was minimal. My question is should I continue with the deal being that the dealership is going back on their word? Also would this be the bike for me if I want to ride 100-500 miles every weekend? What issues should I expect with the bike if I do consummate the deal and for a mechanically inclined above novice wrencher would these problems keep me off the road for any extended period (excluding time waiting for the correct parts)?

Thanks,

John

Old 05-17-2019, 06:50 AM
Racepres
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,054 Likes on 1,510 Posts

Odd...and Desireable Motorcycle right there..Last Year 4-speed, second year EVO... Flatside Tanks...
That one looks fairly stock, tho I do Not recall Black FXWG Forks, nor Cast Front Wheel... Geeze... may be last Kick starter also... Softail had it, but, I do Not believe after '86
Is it a Commuter????
Sure if you wish to make a 6-7 K bike into a 2K bike...Is it a "gotta have " Putter" ???? Absolutely..