Notices
Evo Classic Models All Evo Models

Crate Motor or Factory Reman

 
  #1  
Old 12-19-2007, 10:00 PM
89Classic
89Classic is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crate Motor or Factory Reman

Howdy

I want to know which is the better thing to do, buy a Crate Motor or have mine
Remanufactured.. It's a 1989 flhtc. The speedo is showing 88k miles and I think they are not the right miles. On my last trip on it,( was last july ) comeing back home i started hearing a kinda knocking sound on the cam side, it sounded like it was in the cam cover. I parked it when I got home and didn't do any thing tell 3 days ago, i pulled the cam cover off and seen that the cam bearing was badly wore and also the Pinion Shaft bearing was also wore bad, and the part of the pinion shaft that rides in the bearing don't look to good. So it's my guess that the rest of the bottom end is the same way. So i'm going to do one of two things, put a crate motor in it or have the old one remand. I watched the reman deal on the HD site, it says the HD shop here has to remove the motor and ship it to the reman factory, I don't want the hd shop to remove the motor, why can't i remove the motor and take it to the HD shop so they can send it to the reman factory.

thanks for any replys...

 
  #2  
Old 12-19-2007, 10:18 PM
Steve On 3's Avatar
Steve On 3
Steve On 3 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Charlotte Area
Posts: 2,607
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

Buddy just had his 97 RK done after 223k miles. The dealer has to remove and install it beacuse they're "certified" to do so. He got a 12 month warranty. Was about 4200 or so and took a month. Dealer did not reflash his ecm initially and he had some problems like it shutting down and running on one cylinder. They put on new sensors and new alternator, and lot sof other stuff because they di dnot get a baseline for his new engine on hte ecm. Once they flashed the ecm, it runs strong.

One word of caution,If you have a cam or adjustible pushrods or anything other than stock, have it removed and stock stuff sent. He has been reeally happy since they finally got his bike straight. They did give him free routine services for the year for his trouble. Ha says he'd do it agin if he needed a rebuild.

Bubba
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:10 AM
lionsm13's Avatar
lionsm13
lionsm13 is online now
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Western South Dakota
Posts: 36,997
Received 12,114 Likes on 6,106 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

Depends on how much $ ya got and how many ponies ya want. If neither is a problem, then go with a ultima motor. You can go fast, and it is a very reliable and dependable motor. Evo motors are pooches out of the box, 47-52 horses. MAX. Get a motor where you can at least get 80 ponies preferably more. It'll be alot more fun too.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-2007, 11:39 AM
DirtyDave's Avatar
DirtyDave
DirtyDave is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 462
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

Kendal Johnson use to remanufacture evo engines. I don't know if he still does. You take it out and ship. Around the same price for the factory remanufacture minus the shop fee for taking it out and putting it back in.The Factory puts the motor back to stock factory spects and Kendall makes it better then that. I'm sure there are others but would get some refrences before sending it to anyone.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:40 PM
rizzo's Avatar
rizzo
rizzo is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Frostbite Falls, MN
Posts: 4,198
Likes: 0
Received 586 Likes on 371 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

I'd go with a performance engine vs. stock and honestly I think you could find a good indy shop that would make the performance price about the same as the dealer installed reman Evo.

Kendall Johnson engines rock. I'll see if I can find my dyno sheet in the shop - it's pumping 86 Hp and 94 Tq. It will smoke the kids TC 88 stage 1 all day and I've also run away from another 88 build. Haven't tried a 96 yet.

One of my buddies saidit pulls as hard as hisstock 113 Big Dog. I'd encourage you to look around before you make a decision because it will put ahuge smile on your face everytime you twist that throttle.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:44 PM
sleepneagle
sleepneagle is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

If I were in your position, I would get the biggest, badest crate engine I could stuff in there.
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:25 PM
dog155's Avatar
dog155
dog155 is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Windham,Maine
Posts: 13,389
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

You can go as big as 131" without frame mods.Big power requires more fuel,exhaust and clutch upgrade at least.
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:40 PM
EVOrider
EVOrider is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Russellville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,739
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

I think ALOT depends on how much $$ and time you have. If money were no option, then I would go for the biggest baddest engine you can find. If you have experience, then rebuild it yourself.

My 1998 FLHTC has just a little 181,000 miles and it is beginning to get weak. I'll be doing something next year with it....I will however buy a crate motor, get it remanufactured, or buy an S&S motor. Something has to happen......I am not going for power, just high mileage with realibilty with excellent fuel economy. Since I have another Electra Glide to ride, I may even just rebuild it myself. I don't know yet.
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:54 PM
89Classic
89Classic is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

Thanks guys for the info..

But i really don't need all that extra hp, stock is fine for me, i'm never in no hurry to get where i'm going. But what bothers me is the crate motor is a 99 model right, well my motor is rubber mounted and if i remember right when i was last at the hd shop here, as in it's 100 miles away, the crate motor they had there looked just like the one in my wifes 93 FXSTC which is bolted to the frame. The front motor mount on the FLHTC looks longer than the one on the FXSTC, so will this 99 crate motor fit into the frame of my bike.
As for $$$, i just want to save as much as i can...
.

my FLHTC
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...cture1_079.jpg

.
My wifes FXSTC
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...Picture001.jpg




 
  #10  
Old 12-20-2007, 09:29 PM
paco's Avatar
paco
paco is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 285
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Crate Motor or Factory Reman

hello,

same motor......just put a el bruto 107" ultima in my 1990 electraglide. bolted right up and runs very well. just my opinion, but if you don't want hp and u don't want to go fast just do the $2500 remanufacture and take it out and put it back yourself. save heap money. jmho.

later.................
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Crate Motor or Factory Reman


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: