EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Charging Issue 92 FLHTC

Old 05-07-2011, 02:00 PM
thebamaguy
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging Issue 92 FLHTC

Hi guys. This problem is baffling me because it is so blasted intermittent that it makes it troubling which side to tackle. It all revolves around the electrical system. I'm going to list everything that the bike has been doing so this may take a while.

In July 2010 I was having trouble starting the bike. I would charge the battery and the battery would not hold a charge. I could charge the battery and start the bike but the voltmeter on the console would drop almost immediately to the 8-9 range. If I ever shut the bike off it would not restart. I replaced the battery.

I rode the bike during the winter a good bit. I also upgraded the headlights and driving lights to some brighter halogen lights back in October. Even during my winter driving I never had problems.

In April 2011 I started riding a good bit and that is when the problems returned. The voltmeter would read about 11 when I would try to start the bike but the starter wouldn't engage. If I rocked the bike back and forth I could get the starter to engage. So, I was thinking the starter was bad. When I would ride the voltage on the console with the lights on would be right above 12 and would hold at that level.

Then the battery began to act just like it did back in July when the battery was replaced. I would hook up a trickle charger to the battery and charge overnight. The battery charger would show 14.8 when fully charged but the bike would not start and the voltage on the console would read around 11.

The funny thing is that when I use my batter charger to jump start my bike it turns right over. No problems at all. However, once I get on the road the voltage drops to the 8-9 range almost immediately with the lights on. My turn signals will not even work because the voltage is so low.