EVO All Evo Model Discussion

I need a singlefire ignition edumacation...

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2011, 07:15 PM
Doug S
Road Master
Received 33 Likes on 17 Posts
Default I need a singlefire ignition edumacation...

I am looking into getting a single fire ignition and coil, not for performance but to solve an issue I’ve been chasing for a couple years. I need one that either has a separate timing adjustments for the rear cylinder or a built in set up for same. I prefer the type that mounts under the seat but a nosecone type would be OK.

I’ve looked into the Daytona and DynaTech 2000 and the Dynatech advertises a “rear cylinder offset” which I think means it will fire at the same timing as the front in single fire mode. Is that what it means?

I believe my cam has too much overlap and I’m getting a popping sort of misfire from the rear cylinder at idle and low/constant throttle settings. Trust me, I’ve tried everything under the sun short of swapping out the cam-it runs like a raped ape when you are on this cam and I don’t want to mess that up…and start over…

What are my options as far as companies and models, most important is reliability...Any coils better than others?

Thanks
Doug

Old 09-05-2011, 07:38 PM
NorthGeorgiaHawg
Club Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Doug S
I am looking into getting a single fire ignition and coil, not for performance but to solve an issue I’ve been chasing for a couple years. I need one that either has a separate timing adjustments for the rear cylinder or a built in set up for same. I prefer the type that mounts under the seat but a nosecone type would be OK.

I’ve looked into the Daytona and DynaTech 2000 and the Dynatech advertises a “rear cylinder offset” which I think means it will fire at the same timing as the front in single fire mode. Is that what it means?