EVO All Evo Model Discussion

87 FLHTC - Starting Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 07:43 AM
Summers420us
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 FLHTC - Starting Issues

Just a little introduction about myself: Yep... just another noob to this forum... however, I have been riding and wrenching for better part of 30 years and particpate in other forums for my other additions, ahem... I mean hobies. Glad to be here and hope that I can add to the knowledge base.

So... here is my issue:

I have a 1987 FLHTC with a 1340 Evo. A few mods here and there, a rebuild or two, but over all it is a stock power plant. I have had this bike since 1989, and have coverd well over a quarter million miles with it.

Last fall, the bike started having issues with the starter. When the botton is pushed, it would act as though the battery was low and the starter would buzz and then turn over slowly. This happened every time. On the last ride, I even got a nice puff of electrical smoke from the starter area... though I am not positive of the exact source. Being that I have a few other sleds, I put her away for the winter after that.

Fast forward a season and yesterday I decided to tackle the problem. I read about people experiencing the "Click Issue" written about here: https://www.hdforums.com/forum/evo-c...-question.html and even though the symptoms are different (I do not get a click.. I get a buzz and a slow crank) I figured what the hell... a starter relay is cheap.

I shoudl have attempted to start the bike before trying to make any repairs, but I did not. I slapped in a new starter relay. I hit the fire button and she cranked like new and fired right up. I thought to myself that I had fixed it for cheap, but to be sure, I wanted to see what happened when I put the old relay back on the system.