EVO All Evo Model Discussion

ticking noise

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 11:41 PM
80cibagger
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ticking noise

im new to this, so take it easy on me. just picked up a 1984.5 flhtc electra glide classic 80ci evo with about 40k. all original except the s&s super e carb. the bike has a light ticking noise while running. i was thinking i could convert to solid tappets and adjustible push rods from s&s. while im in there i would like to change the cam and bearing. the question i have is could the tapping be a wore out cam chain tensioner thus causeing it to be out of time and spit back thru the carb. because it does this when i pump the throttle every once in a while. plus the ticking noise is anoying.....id rather hear that exhaust trot along. any help would be greatly appreciated thank you.

Old 08-09-2012, 12:41 AM
Spanners39
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 438 Likes on 252 Posts

Well its an Evo so it doesn't have chain tensioners, they all tick but its relative, we would need to be with the bike to determine if it is excessive but the fairing will reflect all the valve train noise back at you.

Spit back is just carby needing jetting correctly.

At 40K you probably wanna change the bearing and lifters but go with stock, your bike don't need solids and it doesn't really need adjustable pushrods but others will argue against it.....as a Harley mechanic I don't think the time savings on potential engine work later down the track outwieghs the security and reliability of the stock lifters and pushrods.

If you gonna pull it apart then put an EV27 Andrews cam in it but be aware that the higher lift will eventually wear the valve stem oil seals and you will get an increase in oil consumption at some point.