General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2009 Softail vs 2013 Wide Glide

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2015, 08:21 PM
TacticalZL1
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Softail vs 2013 Wide Glide " Need Help Please" Newbie

Everyone,

I am new to the forum and looking to purchase either a 2009 Softail Night Train or a 2013 Dyna Wide Glide. They both have less than 2k miles on them. I am trying to figure out which is the better bike.

What are some of the pro's and con's?

Sorry, I am pretty new to all this and looking for some help.

Thanks everyone

Last edited by TacticalZL1; 07-11-2015 at 08:24 PM.
Old 07-11-2015, 08:30 PM
Jackie Paper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,527 Likes on 3,780 Posts

Ride them. Similar styles bar bike look. Dyna will probably handle a little better but if you need handling, get a Sport bike. If you push either to a fine edge, you won't last long out there on either. Softail is probably a tad lower. I personally like being able to see out my mirrors at a stop light and got the Softail. Softail has just a tad of harshness (solid mounted engine) when you start it and driving down the road. It actually not noticeable unless you ride both regularly. Either bike has the early bugs worked out. Take what looks good on you. That 2009 Softail Night Train was a masterpiece for Harley. I'm running stock takeoff exhaust off one and my windshield came off a Anniversary Wideglide

Last edited by Jackie Paper; 07-13-2015 at 12:29 PM.
Old 07-12-2015, 04:29 PM
TacticalZL1
2nd Gear

Yes, I am going to ride them both, but wondering if one is better than the other and why.

Old 07-12-2015, 04:45 PM
Rick58
Road Warrior
Received 325 Likes on 208 Posts

Whether one is better than the other would be a matter of opinion.

Old 07-12-2015, 05:09 PM
E8USMCRET
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 20,250 Likes on 6,546 Posts