General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MSF vs Riders Edge?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2007, 12:17 AM
azrider
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MSF vs Riders Edge?

I have been riding off and on (more off) for many years. I recently started riding again and I know I have some bad habits and would like to get a good course under my belt. With that said, how do these 2 courses compare, which would you recommend and why? Both are offered in my area.

Thanks

Old 05-21-2007, 12:36 AM
Gunkholes
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: MSF vs Riders Edge?

Back in 2003, I took the Rider's Edge course after a long period of inactivity. The bikes that you ride are larger than in the MSF courses in this area -- they use the Buell Blast. I think that the content is similar, although it's steered more toward Harley bikes. In Washington State, the RE course doesn't get you the endorsement -- you still have to take the test. Great experience, though. As with anything, it probably depends on the instructor corps.

Old 05-21-2007, 12:37 AM
Bluerose

Check with your insurance company...MSF can often get you a discount.
Not sure about Riders Edge.

Old 05-21-2007, 12:43 AM
Cryptoboy
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 3,877 Likes on 1,415 Posts

The Riders Edge is run using only Buell Blasts, while the MSF course typically has whatever is donated/etc. I believe the RE class is a little longer too, if I recall there was another 4 hour session (classroom I think). Depending on the area, it probably costs more, although if you go through a sponsored dealer, they will usually give youa voucherback if you purchase a bike from them.

Old 05-21-2007, 12:54 AM
michaelbarry
Banned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I haven't taken either, but from what i've read on here they're pretty much the same except that the Rider's Edge has some HD product promotion thrown in.