General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New owner/rider from Arizona, needs advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2017, 06:02 PM
Dheez
Advanced
Received 51 Likes on 35 Posts
Default New owner/rider from Arizona, needs advice

Hi,
I just got my first motorcycle last weekend and am wondering how long it took some of you to get over the "jitters".

I purchased a 2015 Iron 883 from my local Harley store and had it delivered. The next day I went to the DMV and got my permit.

I started practicing in an empty parking lot next to my condo trying to get my shifting/braking skills better and some jerk pulls in the parking lot driving really fast and almost hit me, I lost control and flew off my bike. The fall bent my handlebars, dented my tank and scratched my exhaust. Luckily I only had a few bumps and scratches and the driver took off before I could get a plate #.

The next day I had the handlebars replaced started practicing again on local back streets and parking lots but now I have an almost uncontrollable anxiety at intersections and traffic. I live in the middle of a busy city and it seems that almost every driver is paying more attention to their cell phones than the road. I didn't realize just how often that happens until I started riding.

I have only driven about 150 total miles, maybe 5 of them have been on main streets and am wondering how long it takes most people to start feeling comfortable riding.

Any positive advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Old 02-10-2017, 07:48 PM
Sapman
Advanced
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts

Have you taken a motorcycle safety course yet?

Old 02-10-2017, 07:56 PM
Dheez
Advanced

Not yet, the one signed up for is next week.

Old 02-10-2017, 07:59 PM
0maha
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,667 Likes on 1,660 Posts

A useful rule of thumb is that it takes 20k miles under various riding conditions to become proficient.