General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Been looking for the Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 09:12 AM
hd_usa
Tourer
Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts
Default Been looking for the Sportster

Hi

Newbie here ... and have been lurking for a while.

I am thinking of getting a Sportster 1200 C. I like the bike but somehow at every visit to a few different dealers, most folks who hang out there tell me to buy a larger bike so I won't have to upgrade. Some folks suggested the Softail.

But based on my reading online, it seems that the Sportster has the best engine design.

What do you folks think ?

Old 02-24-2017, 09:34 AM
HAOLE
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 2,173 Likes on 1,611 Posts

Howzit and Greetings from Houston and a Displaced Cut N Shoot Texan

Get what you like, you will be the one riding it.

My only advice is get the one most suited to what type of riding you intend on doing

ie .. if you plan to tour, the bags would be pretty damn convenient

Haole

Last edited by ChickinOnaChain; 02-28-2017 at 06:27 PM.
The following users liked this post:
jakenok (06-20-2017)
Old 02-24-2017, 09:38 AM
critter85
Extreme HDF Member
Received 2,497 Likes on 2,475 Posts

You want to buy what's best for you, not what everybody else thinks.

Welcome to the Forum from Kansas!

Old 02-24-2017, 10:05 AM
scottwilliamson
Road Master
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

I've been riding a 96 1200C for longer than I care to remember. It has taken me to Florida and back, Colorado and back and all over the eastern US. It will do what ever you want it to. That being said , it isn't the most comfortable bike for touring. It is at it's best around town and for day trips. You have to decide what is important to you and what fits your budget.

LoneWoolf (03-11-2017)
Old 02-24-2017, 10:10 AM
Mopar5599
Outstanding HDF Member

Received 362 Likes on 355 Posts