Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   Do I really need to use HD brand oil? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/1160868-do-i-really-need-to-use-hd-brand-oil.html)

user 9370 02-24-2017 12:32 PM

Do I really need to use HD brand oil?

I'm new to Harley's and have heard several opinions about oil's. Of course, Harley says to use HD-brand oil, several long time riders recommend Mobil-1 synthetic. The shop manual I bought actually says that if HD oil isn't available, that I can substitute an oil used in diesel engines but to change it for HD oil as soon as I can.

So, my question is, may I use any oil as long as it's the proper weight and has the correct properties? Or, should I only use HD brand oil?

Thanks,

Ray

Cygnusx51 02-24-2017 12:34 PM

You do not need to use HD oil.

There's even a whole forum with probably more posts than you'll ever care to read dedicated to nothing but...you guessed it, oil.

EricRay 02-24-2017 12:36 PM

+1 on the Mobil-1 synthetic.

perki48 02-24-2017 12:38 PM

"So, my question is, may I use any oil as long as it's the proper weight and has the correct properties?"

Only answer you need is "YES"

user 9370 02-24-2017 12:41 PM

I actually tried a search before I posted and was inundated with so many hits that I ended up asking. Thanks for the information and I've bookmarks the "Oil Forum" for future reading.

Thanks,

Ray

SPRINGER 02-24-2017 12:50 PM

Originally Posted by Ray-CA (Post 15966707)
I'm new to Harley's and have heard several opinions about oil's. Of course, Harley says to use HD-brand oil, several long time riders recommend Mobil-1 synthetic. The shop manual I bought actually says that if HD oil isn't available, that I can substitute an oil used in diesel engines but to change it for HD oil as soon as I can.