Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   British expat in Germany...what bike to get? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/1192301-british-expat-in-germany-what-bike-to-get.html)

stivh 08-10-2017 04:04 PM

British expat in Germany...what bike to get?

Hi there! I'm Steve, a british guy living in Germany (Wuppertal, near Düsseldorf).
True confessions: I don't ride a Harley!
OK, now that's off my chest ....

I've been riding bikes for nearly 30 years, on a mix of nasty old nails, Universal Jap Bikes, Sports tourers and full on sports bikes (YZF-R6, Blade, that kind of thing). I spent a few years racing short circuits in the UK, culminating in an outing at the Isle of Man. All in all, I've got about 300,000 miles under my belt.

But, more recently, I felt the need to change things a bit. Somehow, I'd finally exorcised the Speed Demon (and lived to tell the tale!). So, my current ride is a BMW R1200GS, but you know, whilst I'm really enjoying a more relaxed take on riding, somehow the Beemer isn't quite pushing my buttons.

I'm interested in changing to a Harley, probably a Dyna something, or a Softail something else (as you can see, I'm not far down this road yet!). So, here I am, looking to gauge opinions to help me decide whether this is really for me :-)

thanks in advance for any insights that folks can share with me - I'll post something more specific later, and sorry for the dumb, n00b questions that I will inevitably ask!

Steve

TwiZted Biker 08-10-2017 10:56 PM

Welcome the forums.