General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New rider

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2017, 12:06 PM
Raven510
Novice
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New rider

Hey just wanted to get some thoughts. So I have never owned a bike grew up riding mini bikes ect. I want to get a road glide as my first bike I have also never rode anything with gears. The other day my boy turned me loose on his glide got out of first gear with absolutely no problem very smooth he also had me doing u turns left hand turning around was also very smooth and easy but I stalled out on right hand turning around. The bike it self is a lot of bike but I felt comfortable Once I got it going. My question is being that I have no experience with gears do you think I'm jumping the gun with a glide.

Old 06-28-2017, 12:09 PM
Big L
Road Warrior

Received 156 Likes on 127 Posts

I'd invest in the Motorcycle safety course, there they teach you enough to assist you in going forward.
BTW Welcome to the Forum from Auburn, Georgia!
Good Luck!

Old 06-28-2017, 12:11 PM
Raven510
Novice

Thanks and I do plan on getting into the course just have to wait a few months but I have an opportunity to get my glide this week I wasn't planning on going out and riding hard until I take the course just parking lot practice

Old 06-28-2017, 12:13 PM
Big L
Road Warrior

Received 156 Likes on 127 Posts

Well then, I say go for it and practice, practice, practice.

Old 06-28-2017, 12:14 PM
Raven510
Novice

Thanks I appreciate the help

Old 06-29-2017, 03:46 AM
6 gun
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 1,743 Likes on 980 Posts

Welcome from central Texas. Do not be a stranger to the forum, shoot some pics of your bike, as soon as you get it, and we'll be waiting to see them.

Old 06-29-2017, 09:34 AM
NORTY FLATZ
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,374 Likes on 2,948 Posts

Originally Posted by Raven510