General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Warm up ? Cool down

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2017, 01:33 AM
Bluegoose95401
Advanced
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Warm up ? Cool down

I finally got my street bob together and have put about 100 miles on it so far. One thing I'm in sure of is how to warm it up and how to cool it down after your done riding it. Some people say just get on it and go some say start it and go but take it slow for the first two or there miles others say let it sit running while you put your helmet and jacket on. Same with the cool down I have heard people say when you pull up to a spot just shut it off or they say let it idle for a bit then shut it off. I'm still new to this air cooled thing what's the best way

Old 08-18-2017, 01:56 AM
DC4MVP
Tourer
Received 75 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by Bluegoose95401
I finally got my street bob together and have put about 100 miles on it so far. One thing I'm in sure of is how to warm it up and how to cool it down after your done riding it. Some people say just get on it and go some say start it and go but take it slow for the first two or there miles others say let it sit running while you put your helmet and jacket on. Same with the cool down I have heard people say when you pull up to a spot just shut it off or they say let it idle for a bit then shut it off. I'm still new to this air cooled thing what's the best way
I personally just go. I mean I don't open her up in 6th gear right away but I live on a busier county road where the speed limit is 55 so I gotta get up to that speed fairly quick.

As for cooling down, I just shut it off. Everyone I ride with does the same.

It may be wrong, it may be right but I've never noticed anything different in the two HD's I've owned.

Old 08-18-2017, 02:19 AM
RubenAlonzo
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by DC4MVP