General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can a Harley be modified for me to ride?

Old 09-23-2018, 06:45 PM
Lodestar63
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can a Harley be modified for me to ride?

I have a very bad lumbar spine (irreparable damage so I just have to live with it and try not to aggravate my back too much) and I am also looking at 2 total knee replacements over the next year. I cannot ride my husband's FatBoy as it is just too painful on my back and knees. I am trying to convince him that a Harley Trike might be the answer so that we can travel together on a bike. My husband is skeptical. I cannot be the only spouse with this problem. Do any of you have suggestions as to what the answer might be? Trike with modifications - if so what might you suggest?

Old 09-23-2018, 06:47 PM
ve9aa
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 647 Likes on 399 Posts

I've never ridden a trike, but I do understand the rear suspension can be pretty rough at times. That would be hard on the back.

The following users liked this post:
Lodestar63 (09-24-2018)
Old 09-23-2018, 07:10 PM
5wheels
Road Master
Received 409 Likes on 266 Posts

The rear on the trike can be rough but there are some ways make it a little smoother. The front doesn't seem rough to me. You can check out DK Customs they have done work with Trikes and ride them. They are a sponsor on here as well.

The following 2 users liked this post by 5wheels:
Lodestar63 (09-24-2018), mctraveler (09-24-2018)
Old 09-23-2018, 07:28 PM
crusader1xxx
Road Master
Received 246 Likes on 193 Posts

I hate to say this but sometimes life gets in the way of fun...meaning that depending on how much pain your back causes you, you just might not be able to ride even if you want to.