Flat Tire question - Harley Davidson Forums

General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flat Tire question

  #1  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:22 AM
213_LooseNoodle's Avatar
213_LooseNoodle
213_LooseNoodle is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 122
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default Flat Tire question

Hello I have a rear flat tire on my 97 FXDWG.

Tire was flat when I got up this morning (I use the bike to commute everyday).

Can any bike shop fix it or should I go to a harley shop?

Thanks

rm
 
  #2  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:24 AM
213_LooseNoodle's Avatar
213_LooseNoodle
213_LooseNoodle is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 122
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Also, is it safe to fill it with air and limp to the closest shop?
 
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:29 AM
Pantera99's Avatar
Pantera99
Pantera99 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: AZ
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Fill with air, find the leak. Can purchase tire plug kit cheap at harbor freight or any auto parts store. Or If it's not a huge leak u can ride it to a shop nearby.
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:30 AM
Architect's Avatar
Architect
Architect is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,790
Thanked 379 Times in 275 Posts
Default

Any good independent shop or the dealership should be able to fix you up.

Put air in it and see if it holds some air. Give it 15 or 20 minutes to see what it does before riding. It may not hold air long enough to get you anywhere. Good luck.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:53 AM
nobodyknowsme's Avatar
nobodyknowsme
nobodyknowsme is online now
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: in a cave
Posts: 5,748
Thanked 1,240 Times in 947 Posts
Default

I am assuming that you have a tube in that tire? You will at least need a new one of those, possibly a tire. Any kind of bike shop should slick you up.
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:07 PM
Oko's Avatar
Oko
Oko is online now
Road Captain
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 709
Thanked 166 Times in 120 Posts
Default

You've lost your original HD air. Your bike warranty will be voided if you install any 3-rd party air.
 

Last edited by Oko; 11-06-2018 at 12:08 PM.
  #7  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:12 PM
Kingglide549's Avatar
Kingglide549
Kingglide549 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Viet Vet, crossroads
Posts: 3,286
Thanked 656 Times in 469 Posts
Default

Helping the helpless that have their brains in a wheelchair.......
You should IMMEDIATELY get rid of this bike being this stimied you!
What ya gonna do when you get low on
gas?
oil?

.
 

Last edited by Kingglide549; 11-06-2018 at 12:14 PM.
  #8  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:12 PM
Cbyway's Avatar
Cbyway
Cbyway is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Great State of Texas
Posts: 1,812
Thanked 663 Times in 409 Posts
Default

I would do as someone else stated. Air it up and find the leak. It may just be a loose valve stem unless you can see the object in the tire.

I carry a plug kit and CO2 cartridges for emergency use. A plug is only designed as a temporary fix although I have put years of wear on plugged tires on ranch vehicles as well as older truck tires I was planning on replacing soon anyway. I would never trust a plug in a motorcycle tire for anything more than a direct trip to have the tire properly fixed or replaced.

I know there are those who will say run it if it's not leaking. I even ride with a guy who has two plugs in his rear tire.
 
  #9  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:13 PM
Sanjuro's Avatar
Sanjuro
Sanjuro is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Variable
Posts: 382
Thanked 94 Times in 71 Posts
Default

Personally, I would not risk patching a motorcycle tire, or trying to "limp" to a repair shop.

If this were a car, no worries - I have 3 other tires.

For a motorcycle, if you loose one tire, it is potentially tragic.

R,
Sanjuro
 
  #10  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:20 PM
chuckw2's Avatar
chuckw2
chuckw2 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal hi desert
Posts: 2,466
Thanked 80 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Wide Glide with spoke rims has a tube. Can't plug that. Probably won't hold air long enough to get anywhere. Unless of course you've changed to a tubeless spoke wheel assembly. been there done that.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: