General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Harley announces profits wiped out by trade tariffs

Old 02-07-2019, 12:51 PM
Halojumper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,340 Likes on 842 Posts

If, by adding new riders, they mean that's how many people attended their classes, that might be a supportable position.

Old 02-08-2019, 01:37 AM
KMC1
Tourer
Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by TenMidgets
The last time we had an economy this great was in the 90s and early 2000s Harley sold 350K bikes a year and one had to wait months for them and many paid over MSRP. Showrooms were empty.

Today we are in a BETTER economy and Harley cannot sell enough bikes.....Doesn't bode well for the next recession. If Harley can't sell enough bikes in this economy, they cannot possibly last very long when the tide turns as it ALWAYS does,
I want to respond to this, but I am not a regular commenter and I get the impression any post that even begins to discuss the truth about globalization or the effects of "offshoring" will see said poster sent to banned camp - so I guess I'll just keep my thoughts to myself. What has happened to America when you can't even have an honest discussion??

Old 02-08-2019, 02:07 AM
Wizardofaus
Road Warrior
Received 230 Likes on 173 Posts

Originally Posted by BigMike
Harley will survive, whether it’s the same company is yet to be seen. Maybe Fiat or TaTa motors will buy them. LOL

I think the company is trying to turn the tide with their core customers getting too old to ride. They need to appeal to the younger aging customers that want to dress up like pirates while also creating a product for the younger crowd. It takes time and won’t happen overnight. Do they have the right people at the helm to make it happen though?