Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   Price check: 1981 FXB Sturgis (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/1274714-price-check-1981-fxb-sturgis.html)

MT-81FXB 03-12-2019 08:56 PM

Price check: 1981 FXB Sturgis

Greetings folks. I'm a newbie seeking some assistance regarding pricing/selling my late brother's 1981 Sturgis. I'm not very familiar with the HD market so I thought it best to query you experts.

Here is a little history on the bike. My brother bought it new in 1981 and he owned until he passed away in 2005. I've owned it since then and have ridden it about 1,000 miles. He was a Harley mechanic and he completely disassembled the bike in 1995 or 1996. He shipped the engine off to a place in Texas and had it ported, along with Andrews super close ratio gears installed. I found a "For Sale" flyer he had made while taking care of his estate, in which he noted those two specifications. From 1996 until his death in 2005, the disassembled bike sat in the living room of his house, with the Texas returned engine living under his glass coffee table. I have pictures of the disassembled bike sitting in his house. Peculiar to me but he always liked talking about that bike. I guess it's hard not to when it's sitting in the living room.