Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   Riding in rain. Where do you draw the line? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/1284465-riding-in-rain-where-do-you-draw-the-line.html)

James Gibson 05-17-2019 02:05 PM

Riding in rain. Where do you draw the line?

I am still in my first year of riding so I have a lot to learn. I have ridden in the rain a few times. The longest for about 45 mins before it stopped. The word I am getting from coworkers, friends, and family (some who ride) is that I am absolutely out of my mind for riding in the rain. So far it doesn't seem to be a huge deal to me. I mean, much like I do in my truck, I increase following distance, I am more cautious in turns, avoid puddles. I don't feel like I am about to die the way they make it sound. Am I missing something?

nobodyknowsme 05-17-2019 02:09 PM

I don't promote or endorse much of anything Harley riding gear but their High Viz riding gear is worth the money. Last weekend I had an appointment to get my bike worked on at a dealership 45 miles away. There was a downpour both ways and I got home bone dry. You already stated the obvious cautionary measures so just be safe and double cautious.

Greezey Rider 05-17-2019 02:15 PM

Originally Posted by James Gibson (Post 18263670)
I am still in my first year of riding so I have a lot to learn. I have ridden in the rain a few times. The longest for about 45 mins before it stopped. The word I am getting from coworkers, friends, and family (some who ride) is that I am absolutely out of my mind for riding in the rain. So far it doesn't seem to be a huge deal to me. I mean, much like I do in my truck, I increase following distance, I am more cautious in turns, avoid puddles. I don't feel like I am about to die the way they make it sound. Am I missing something?