General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dyno - dealer vs non-dealer

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2019, 07:49 AM
TimmyPage
Road Captain
Received 201 Likes on 106 Posts
Default Dyno - dealer vs non-dealer

Disclaimer: I am no expert on the matter and sorry for the long post. Questions at the bottom.

My story.

2017 883 converted to a 1202, stage 1, TTS tuner, all dealer installed, dealer I bought the bike from, but their dyno guy is a small independent they contract out to. I watched him dyno my bike and he was (clueless) not familiar with TTS software. The bike had a lot of decel popping, which he could not eliminate but the bike pulled hard and his dyno showed 79 torque / 78 HP.

I rode the bike for a little bit and contacted TTS after I couldn't stand the popping anymore. He replied that one Harley dealer near me, not where I bought the bike, buys a lot of TTS tuners, so I went there. This dealer dynos in-house and their guy just tunes bikes all day.

Dealer #2 tuned the bike for me and came back with 76 torque / 75 HP. That obviously could just be a difference of machines but the bike did pull slightly harder after the first dyno and it wasn't just my imagination. Dr also said that dealer #1 used the wrong map for my bike. They used a map for a 1202 with 1202 gearing, whereas mine is a 1202 with 883 gears.

Questions:

Would there be a noticeable performance difference or benefit tuning your bike elsewhere vs at a HD dealership?

Does my bike feel slightly slower now because of the different map?

Could the difference be that Harley dealers still have to meet environmental requirements even tuning after the initial sale? I am in Canada but our dealers probably still follow US rules.

Cheers

Last edited by TimmyPage; 06-18-2019 at 07:51 AM.
Old 06-18-2019, 08:44 AM
kngpn
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,119 Likes on 2,675 Posts