General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Short people got no reason to ride

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2009, 01:51 PM
rockDAWG
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Short people got no reason to ride

Hey folks...... Newbie here with my first post here. I have been an avid Jeeper all my life, riding topless and doorless through out the country in rock crawling. Last years, my son, 19, wanted to learn how to ride a bike. Instead of say no to him, we both took the state safety riding course. We both passed and got our motor cycle lisense. I bough a Honda Rebel and ride her everyday to and from work whenever I can. Love it and but time to move up.

I have a problem, I am only 5'4" and 150 lbs. I have two general questions:
1. What model can I handle safely with any modification?
2. what is the biggest bike I can modify to ride safely?

I am not sure what my riding style is, and it still being developed. But I can safely say that I doubt I will ride it across the country like I would ride in my Jeep. I am not young anymore, so weaving in and out of the trafffic on the street is not my kind of fun although I used to do that in my Bimmer or while driving a cab in NYC 30 years ago.

I would like to hear from the shorter folks here about their experiece in chossing a Harley? And how they can overcome the phyical handicap of riding a bigger bike.

I went to the HD dealer last nite and sat on a few. Please provide me some feedback to narrow down a bit. Many thanks.

===========
In 1977, it was a big hit.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NvgLkuEtkA

Old 04-30-2009, 01:57 PM
Phrogman
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Haha, I still sing that song some times. Love it.

I'm not short, 6'0" but your best bet is going to be the lower Softails or Dynas. There are a couple of Sportys which have short shocks and stuff, but they aren't exactly accommodating.