Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   Avoiding being killed by a left turning cager? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/367597-avoiding-being-killed-by-a-left-turning-cager.html)

Burstbucker 07-16-2009 08:02 PM

Avoiding being killed by a left turning cager?

I've been riding motorcycle for almost two years now and I still consider myself pretty green although I'm a fairly competent rider overall. I'm a pretty cautious rider but I'm possibly not enjoying it as much as I should.

There's been a number of motorcyclists killed already this summer in my area and the latest one was a 38 year old man who was cut off by a left turning cager on Sunday afternoon just up the road from where I live. The write-ups in the papers are always the same, they tell you that a motorcyclist ran into a car and was killed and that the roads and weather conditions were good at the time and that the cause of the crash has yet to be determined, oh and that the driver of the car was unharmed (that last bit really bugs me, they're always unharmed!).

I find that this stuff is making me more paranoid, almost every car that I see approaching me is suspect and I sometimes pull in the clutch and get ready to brake if a car seems to be going slow enough to start turning left. Or I at least slow down some and keep an eagle-eye on them.

I've had three occasions in the last month where I've been cut off, all by woman oddly enough. The last one, two weeks ago was the worst, at 35-40 mph, I had to jam on both brakes to avoid a young woman who totally cut me off at the very last second. I went into a 10-15 foot long skid but held it together and avoided a crash but man, I was really shaken up by this idiot.