General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wow! My MSF course didn't cover this one....

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2010, 04:05 PM
wahlumsurfer
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wow! My MSF course didn't cover this one....

I know that I am a noob/beginner rider and all so please wait till the end to start the name calling, but I had a suprising revelation!

Decided that the neighborhood drives and slow manuvering practice was getting boring, so I decided to head out on the back roads to head to Walmart.

Since most of my practicing only got me up to 30 MPH I wasn't expecting the impact of the wind at 40 MPH on my Iron. The most disturbing was the cross winds and turbulent areas (even though today was a calm day). Never really went over or had mentioned that issue in the MSF class here (they did touch on passing Semi's however). I had some ideas, but thought that about 600 pounds or so of bike and meat wouldn't really be pushed around that much. Before the Negative Nancies and Sandy Bagina's jump on me, I know that the equivalent of 2 days of "parking lot" practice can't give the same experience and all, I just wanted

Took me a bit to adjust, but after the first wobbles I found myself lacking confidence to get back up to 45 in open areas. Gonna head out there tonight when there is less traffic until I get it down!

OK, flame on every one!

Old 11-21-2010, 04:11 PM
Kadorja
Road Captain
Received 149 Likes on 61 Posts

What a panzy.....

Just playing. Yeah it sucks driving on the highway. You really need to get everything from your helmet and clothing right before you start a long trip.

When I went to NC on vacation I had bruises on my back from my backpack, legs from my pants and my hands where sore as hell from my gloves. The way back I strapped the backpack down and wore fingerless gloves and better pants and had no problems at all.